An international mindset, tolerance, mobility, and transparency are key values of Film University Babelsberg KONRAD WOLF.

The university is open to young people from across the globe. Already during GDR times, the school provided film education to students from a number of countries (such as Vietnam, Chile, various Arab and African states, Israel, and Bulgaria). Currently, some 13% of the student body come from abroad. As students from different cultures collaborate on projects, they learn together and from each other.       

The university fosters early involvement in projects allowing students to gather experience outside of Germany. Students films made in India, New Zealand, Argentina, Norway, or the U.S. are no longer exceptions.

This is exemplified by the nationally and internationally celebrated graduation films of two students who completed the school's Directing program: Daniel Carsenty's After Spring Comes Fall, a highly topical drama on the situation of Syrian refugees in Berlin, attracted much attention. In his German-Dutch co-production Transit Havana, Daniel Abma presents a very original perspective on the struggles of transsexual men in Cuba.    

As a member of the International Association of Film and Television Schools (CILECT) and the European League of Institutes of the Arts (ELIA), the school provides a wide range of international contacts and promotes networking worldwide.

Visiting lecturers from abroad regularly teach at Film University Babelsberg KONRAD WOLF. Likewise, the school's teaching and academic staff assume teaching positions at international institutions and present their work at festivals and conferences across the globe. Films made by students of the university are shown at festivals all over the world. Numerous international prizes attest to the skills of Babelsberg's young film and television talent: In 2013, a total of 83 prizes – among them 24 international prizes – were awarded to films made by the school's students.

Every year, numerous international filmmakers come to Babelsberg for Europe's largest international student film festival SEHSÜCHTE, which is organized and staged by the university's students. Every late April, filmmakers, festival guests, and visitors from throughout the region gather to enjoy the festival's multicultural and unique atmosphere.

© Film University 2017


Logo Filmuniversität

• Studierende auf dem Dach der Filmuniversität mit Blick auf das Babelsberger Filmstudio Foto: K. Barkmann

Weltoffenheit, Toleranz, Mobilität und Transparenz sind zentrale Leitbilder der Filmuniversität Babelsberg

Das Studium an der Filmuniversität steht jungen Leuten aus aller Welt offen. Bereits zu DDR-Zeiten wurden Filmemacher aus zahlreichen Ländern (z.B. Vietnam, Chile, viele arabische und afrikanische Staaten, Israel oder Bulgarien) an der HFF ausgebildet. Gegenwärtig kommen etwa 13 % der Immatrikulierten aus dem Ausland. Studierende aus unterschiedlichen Kulturkreisen arbeiten gemeinsam an Projekten, lernen selbstverständlich mit- und voneinander.

Die Studierenden bekommen frühzeitig Gelegenheit, jenseits deutscher Grenzen Erfahrungen zu sammeln. Studentische Filme, die in Indien, Neuseeland, Argentinien, Norwegen, den USA oder Israel entstehen, sind längst keine Ausnahme mehr.

Beispielhaft dafür sind zwei Regiestudierende der Filmuniversität, deren Abschlussfilme zur Zeit im In- und Ausland gefeiert werden: Daniel Carsenty machte mit AFTER SPRING COMES FALL, einem sehr aktuellen Drama zur Situation syrischer Flüchtlinge in Berlin, auf sich aufmerksam; Daniel Abma ist mit der deutsch-niederländischen Koproduktion TRANSIT HAVANA eine originelle Sicht auf die Lage transsexueller Menschen in Kuba gelungen.

Um diese internationale Vernetzung zu gewährleisten, unterhält die Hochschule vielfältige Außenbeziehungen als Mitglied im Centre International de Liaison des Ecoles de Cinéma et de Télévision CILECT und der European League of Institutes of the Arts ELIA.

An der Filmuniversität unterrichten regelmäßig ausländische Gastdozenten und gleichzeitig nehmen Lehrende und akademische MitarbeiterInnen Lehraufträge an ausländischen Hochschulen wahr und präsentieren ihre Arbeiten auf Festivals und Konferenzen weltweit. Die studentischen Filme finden in zahlreichen Ländern der Welt ihre Festivalplattform. Viele internationale Preise belegen die Anerkennung des Film- und Fernsehnachwuchses aus Babelsberg. Im Jahr 2013 wurden 83 Preise an Filme der Filmuniversität verliehen, 24 davon waren international.

Viele internationale Filmemacher kommen jedes Jahr auch nach Babelsberg, wenn die SEHSÜCHTE, das größte internationale Studentenfilmfestival in Europa, von den Studierenden der Filmuniversität ausgerichtet werden. Jedes Jahr Ende April genießen die Filmemacher und Festivalgäste gemeinsam mit Besuchern aus der Region das multikulturelle Flair, die einmalige Atmosphäre des Festivals.

© Filmuniversität 2017


Logo Filmuniversität