Prof. Dr. Christine Reeh-Peters


Prof.
Dr. Christine Reeh-Peters

Junior Professor for Theory and Practice of Artistic Research in Digital Media

1Room R 4305Tel: +49 331 6202 315Send an E-Mail

As of October 1, 2019, Dr. Christine Reeh-Peters has accepted the junior professorship for Theory and Practice of Artistic Research in Digital Media at the Film University.

Christine Reeh-Peters studied art science and media art at the Staatliche Hochschule für Gestaltung Karlsruhe from 1995 and 1996. This was followed by studies in montage and directing at the Film University in Lisbon and, in 2007, a master's degree in philosophy of art and aesthetics at the Faculdade de Letras of the University of Lisbon, which was supported by a grant from the Fundaçao para a Ciencia e a Tecnologia.

Equally supported was her PhD dissertation, which was written there in cooperation with the University of Bonn: Reeh-Peters is influenced in her philosophical thinking by the currents of new realism and speculative materialism, among others. Her dissertation "The solaristic system" outlines an ontology of film based on Martin Heidegger and the film "Solaris" by Andrei Tarkovskij. The defense of the thesis, which was evaluated "summa cum laude", took place in 2017.

Since fall 2016 she worked as an assistant professor at the HfG Karlsruhe with Prof. Razvan Radulescu in the field of media art/film. At the same time, she helped shape the city's cultural life as CEO of the Kinemathek Karlsruhe. Reeh-Peters is also the author/director of 10 documentaries and producer of about 20 films also in feature film and TV series formats. As a filmmaker, she questions the relationship between film image, imagination and reality as well as common cinematic formats.

Prof. Dr. Christine Reeh-Peters


Prof.
Dr. Christine Reeh-Peters

Juniorprofessorin für Theorie und Praxis künstlerischer Forschung in digitalen Medien

1Raum 4305Tel: 0331.6202-315E-Mail schreiben

Zum 1. Oktober 2019 hat Dr. Christine Reeh-Peters die Juniorprofessur für Theorie und Praxis künstlerischer Forschung in digitalen Medien an der Filmuniversität übernommen.

Christine Reeh-Peters studierte von 1995 und 1996 Kunstwissenschaft und Medienkunst an der Staatlichen Hochschule für Gestaltung Karlsruhe. Es folgte ein Studium der Montage und Regie an der Filmhochschule in Lissabon sowie 2007 der Magister in Kunstphilosophie und Ästhetik an der Faculdade de Letras der Universität Lissabon, der durch ein Stipendium der Fundaçao para a Ciencia e a Tecnologia gefördert wurde.

Ebenso unterstützt wurde ihre Dissertation, die dort in Kooperation mit der Universität Bonn entstand: Reeh-Peters ist in ihrem philosophischen Denken u.a. von den Strömungen des neuen Realismus und spekulativen Materialismus beeinflusst. Ihre Dissertationsschrift „The solaristic system“ entwirft eine Ontologie des Films auf der Grundlage Martin Heideggers und des Films „Solaris“ von Andrei Tarkovskij. Die Verteidigung der mit „summa cum laude“ bewerteten Arbeit fand im Jahr 2017 statt.

Seit Herbst 2016 arbeitete sie als akademische Mitarbeiterin an der HfG Karlsruhe mit Prof. Razvan Radulescu im Bereich Medienkunst/Film. Zeitgleich gestaltete sie als Geschäftsführerin der Kinemathek Karlsruhe das kulturelle Leben der Stadt mit. Reeh-Peters ist zudem Autorin/Regisseurin von 10 Dokumentarfilmen und Produzentin von rund 20 Filmen auch in den Formaten Spielfilm und TV-Serien. Als Filmemacherin hinterfragt sie das Verhältnis von Filmbild, Imagination und Wirklichkeit sowie gängige filmische Formate.