Prof. Dr. Susanne Stürmer

Dr. Susanne Stürmer© Filmuniversität, 2021


1Room 2413Tel: +49 331 6202 100Send an E-Mail

Prof. Dr. Susanne Stürmer has been President of the Film University Babelsberg KONRAD WOLF since October 2013. Film University Babelsberg gained University Status in 2014 and since then Susanne is steering the process of strengthening the University’s profile together with the whole team and the teaching and research body of the University. From 1998 to 2013 Susanne Stürmer held a leading position at UFA GmbH, Germany’s largest Film and Televion production company, since 2006 as Managing Director and Member of the Board. Parallel to that she was Professor for New Media Production an Film University Babelsberg. Susanne holds a doctorate in economics of Free University Berlin and started her professional carrer in the field of regulatory economics for telecoms, energy and the media. Alongside her current position Susanne is engaged in a number of institutions and activities and, therefore, has a very wide network and relevant expertise in many aspects of the cultural and creative industries and in higher education, particularly in the arts. Some of her engagements are: 

  • Deputy chairwoman of the Board of Berlin-Brandenburg, the media, culture and digital network of the capital region
  • From 2016 to 2020 representative of the state of Brandenburg on the ZDF Television Council
  • Member of the ELIA (European League of Institutes of the Arts) Executive Group
  • Member of the Advisory Board of the Competence Center for the Cultural and Creative Industries of the German Federal Government
  • Board of Trustees of the Fraunhofer Heinrich-Hertz-Institute for Telecommunications
  • Member of the Supervisory Board of Medienboard Berlin-Brandenburg GmbH, the film funding body in the capital region
  • Currently Susanne holds the chairmanship of the BLHP, the university rectors’ conference in Brandenburg, was recently elected as deputy chairwoman of the RKK, the German art school rectors’ conference and is member of the governance commission of the HRK, the German universities rectors’ conference.